Published: May 29, 2020

Members should be aware that the South Korean Ministry of Maritime Affairs and Fisheries (“MOF”) has announced an air quality control programme that defines selected South Korean ports and areas as Emission Control Areas (ECA). A programme with maximum sulphur limits (0.1%) and speed limits will support the effectiveness of the programme. The following ports/areas are covered by the air quality control programme:

  • Incheon, Pyeongtaek, Dangjin Area
  • Yeosu, Gwangyang area
  • Busan
  • Busan(west) area
  • Ulsan area

From 1 September 2020 it will be mandatory to use fuel with a max. 0.1% sulphur content while berthing or anchoring during the times set out below:

  • Berthing: 1 hour after completion of berthing until 1 hour before de-berthing.
  • Anchoring: 1 hour after completion of anchoring until 1 hour before leaving anchor.

From 1 January 2022, it will be mandatory to use fuel with a max. 0.1% sulphur content while navigating within the ECAs.

Reportedly, the use of Scrubbers or Exhaust Gas Cleaning Systems will continue to be allowed for compliance purposes, but it is recommended that verification of this should be obtained from local agents or correspondents prior to the ship’s arrival.

Further information on the ECAs and the Vessel Speed Reduction Programme can be found in the advisory from DNVGL here.


Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!